Work Experience Evidence

During my time studying Journalism at Leeds Metropolitan I have worked a two different companies; Una Health Ltd – an health and business company, and The Buxton Advertiser – a local paper.

The Buxton Advertiser – 20th August to 3rd September 2012.

I worked here for two weeks to gain experience at my first traditional newspaper, and print work environment. A lot of my work involved writing up the letters sent to the paper, for their ‘your thoughts’ page, the editor, John Phillips, showed me how to use their software which laid the pages of the paper out in a grid pattern, with specific sized boxes for each story. I also went out patch reporting with a more senior reporter and helped them getting stories as well as talking to local businesses etc. This was my first experience of a professional news environment and I thoroughly enjoyed it.buxton ad 1
Above is a story I wrote for the paper about the new police and crime commissioner and his stand against child abuse, entitled “Preventing child abuse is priority”.

buxton ad work exp 1

buxton ad work exp 2
Above are screenshots of my completed work experience form.

Contact details for work experience:
Mr John Phillips (Editor)
10 Scarsdale Pl, Buxton SK17 6EG
01298 767070

Una Health Limited – 3rd June to 2nd September 2013

I worked for this company as a social media and online correspondent for 3 months over the summer. My duties involved creating several social media pages/accounts for the company, enabling them to reach more customers and contacts in order to advertise their products in a more modern, easy to access way. I also built and improved several pages of their website, including making the homepage easier to access whilst improving the aesthetics of the site. I also used Search Engine Optimization to improve the site’s Google page ranking, enabling more people to find and click on the website.

una health work exp 1

una health work exp 2

Above is my completed work experience form for Una Health.
Contact details for this work experience:
Mrs Fiona Jacobs
Business development director
Una Health
fiona.jacobs@unahealth.co.uk
Unit 3 Scotia Road Business Park
Stoke on Trent ST6 4HG
01782 575180

Leave a comment